← Back to rubinobservatory.org

Science Collaborations

The Rubin Observatory/LSST Science Collaborations (SCs) are independent, worldwide communities of scientists, self-organized into collaborations based on their research interests and expertise.  The SCs were formed prior to 2008 to help develop the science case for Rubin Observatory (encapsulated in the LSST Science Book) and advise on the design of the LSST survey.  Today, they continue to lay the groundwork necessary to prepare for the advent of Rubin Observatory and advise the Rubin Observatory Project on the operational strategies and data products to accomplish specific science goals, and they provide access to Rubin Observatory and its support infrastructure for large numbers of scientists. Their communication infrastructure is supported by LSSTC who also procures and distributes funds for their activities. 

The Science Collaborations role in the Rubin
ecosystem is described in the SCs Federation Document.


Rubin Observatory/LSST Science Collaborations

Currently there are eight active collaborations. Each Science Collaboration develops its own governmental structure, publication policy, and code of conduct. Membership to the SCs is limited to Rubin Observatory Data Rights holders.

Information about their work and membership for each of the SCs can be found at the link below, by contacting the individual chairs, or the LSSTC Science Collaborations Coordinator, Will Clarkson.

The Rubin Community Science team supports the work of the LSST Science Collaborations and their use of Rubin resources, such as how to use the Rubin Community Forum. All SC chairs are welcome to contact the Lead Community Scientist (Melissa Graham) at any time, with any questions or concerns.  

To learn more about the Science Collaborations, visit the LSST Corporation site.

Financial support for Rubin Observatory comes from the National Science Foundation (NSF) through Cooperative Agreement No. 1258333, the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science under Contract No. DE-AC02-76SF00515, and private funding raised by the LSST Corporation. The NSF-funded Rubin Observatory Project Office for construction was established as an operating center under management of the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA).  The DOE-funded effort to build the Rubin Observatory LSST Camera (LSSTCam) is managed by the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (SLAC).
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 to promote the progress of science. NSF supports basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future.
NSF and DOE will continue to support Rubin Observatory in its Operations phase. They will also provide support for scientific research with LSST data.   

Contact   |   We are Hiring

Admin Login

Back to Top