Subscribe | Unsubscribe



October 2010  •  Volume 3 Number 3

Project Office News

Participants at the 2010 LSST AHM, Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain, AZ

Welcome to the 11th quarterly issue of LSST E-News, where spirits are high but serious, as we recover from a successful All Hands Meeting, plan for the January 2011 AAS Meeting, and most importantly strategize how to move forward after receiving top ranking in the Astro2010 Decadal Survey. The hard work has begun, including meetings with the lead agency NSF to schedule our next review and work out funding scenarios. Both the NSF and DOE have named new program managers to guide us through the funding process: Fred Borcherding at the DOE and Nigel Sharp at NSF. Approval is a multi-phase effort at the DOE; CD-0 completion, which will state the DOE “mission need” for participation in LSST as a dark energy experiment, is anticipated by the end of the year. LSST Director Tony Tyson has more to say about this process in the next article.

Being ranked as the #1 priority for ground based astronomy in the NRC’s Astro2010 Decadal Survey was exciting enough, made even better by the timing: the announcement took place on the final morning of the 2010 LSST All Hands Meeting (AHM). For the 218 people in attendance, watching the live eTownhall broadcast was a moment to remember. This AHM, our fifth, featured daily plenary sessions and approximately 35 breakout sessions over the 5-day meeting. Our post-meeting survey documents a high rate of satisfaction from attendees, with 90% rating the meeting productive, 96% found it to be enjoyable, and 97% anticipate attending the next AHM.

With the All Hands Meeting behind us, attention now turns to the 217th meeting of the American Astronomical Society, taking place in Seattle, WA, January 9-13, 2011. Again this year LSST will have a strong presence at the meeting, starting with a full-day “splinter meeting” on the UW campus on Sunday, January 9th. In addition to our exhibit and poster session, LSST will have a AAS Special Session titled “Community Science with LSST” on Monday, January 10, 2011, from 2:00pm-3:30pm with six speakers and a panel discussion.

This article written by Suzanne Jacoby and Don Sweeney


LSST is a public-private partnership. Funding for design and development activity comes from the National Science Foundation, private donations, grants to universities, and in-kind support at Department of Energy laboratories and other LSSTC Institutional Members:

Adler Planetarium; Brookhaven National Laboratory; California Institute of Technology; Carnegie Mellon University; Chile; Cornell University; Drexel University; George Mason University; Google Inc.; Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics; Institut de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique des Particules (IN2P3); Johns Hopkins University; Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology at Stanford University; Las Cumbres Observatory Global Telescope Network, Inc.; Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Los Alamos National Laboratory; National Optical Astronomy Observatory; Princeton University; Purdue University; Research Corporation for Science Advancement; Rutgers University; SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; Space Telescope Science Institute; Texas A&M University; The Pennsylvania State University; The University of Arizona; University of California, Davis; University of California, Irvine; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Michigan; University of Pennsylvania; University of Pittsburgh; University of Washington; Vanderbilt University

LSST E-News Team:

  • Suzanne Jacoby (Editor-in-Chief)
  • Anna Spitz (Writer at Large)
  • Mark Newhouse (Design & Production: Web)
  • Emily Acosta (Design & Production: PDF/Print)
  • Sidney Wolff (Editorial Consultant)
  • Additional contributors as noted

LSST E-News is a free email publication of the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope Project. It is for informational purposes only, and the information is subject to change without notice.

Subscribe | Unsubscribe

Copyright © 2010 LSST Corp., Tucson, AZ •

trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}