Subscribe | Unsubscribe



April 2014  •  Volume 7 Number 2

Mario Juric Wins 2014 AURA Science Award

Mario Juric, LSST Data Management Project Scientist.

Mario Juric, the LSST Data Management Project Scientist has been awarded the 2014 AURA Science Award. The award recognizes Mario as an intellectual leader of the astronomical community, who contributes not only through his individual research, but also by enabling scientific research by others.

Mario has played a crucial role in helping to prepare the LSST Data Management System (DMS) for an anticipated construction start. His work has focused on a) Updating the data products and technical baselines to assure they are aligned with the Science Requirements Document (SRD) and community expectations; b) Finalizing the algorithm and software development needed to ascertain that DM can be constructed on time and within the allocated budget; and c) Identifying the strengths and weaknesses of the DM team member institutions, and positioning them correctly for construction.

In addition to his LSST contributions, Mario was a principal developer of the SDSS Moving Object Catalog. He has held prestigious fellowships at Princeton University, the Institute for Advanced Study, and Harvard University. He also is a member of the astrophysics graduate faculty at Croatia’s University of Split. His papers have already collected more than 8,000 citations, with an H-index of 30, and he is invited frequently to be a guest speaker at conferences and summer schools.

AURA’s annual Outstanding Achievement Awards recognize exceptional accomplishments by individuals, or groups of individuals in the areas of science, service, technology, and innovation. Mario is the second AURA Award winner from the LSST Project Office. Systems Scientist Chuck Claver won the 2013 Technology / Innovation Award.

Article Written by Rob McKercher from press releases


LSST is a public-private partnership. Funding for design and development activity comes from the National Science Foundation, private donations, grants to universities, and in-kind support at Department of Energy laboratories and other LSSTC Institutional Members:

Adler Planetarium; Argonne National Laboratory; Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL); California Institute of Technology; Carnegie Mellon University; Chile; Columbia University; Cornell University; Drexel University; Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory; George Mason University; Google, Inc.; Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics; Institut de Physique Nucleaire et de Physique des Particules (IN2P3); Johns Hopkins University; Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology (KIPAC) – Stanford University; Las Cumbres Observatory Global Telescope Network, Inc.; Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL); Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL); National Optical Astronomy Observatory; National Radio Astronomy Observatory; Northwestern University; Princeton University; Purdue University; Research Corporation for Science Advancement; Rutgers University; SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; Space Telescope Science Institute; Texas A & M University; The Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic; The Pennsylvania State University; The University of Arizona; University of California at Davis; University of California at Irvine; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Michigan; University of Oxford; University of Pennsylvania; University of Pittsburgh; University of Washington; Vanderbilt and Fisk Universities

LSST E-News Team:

  • Suzanne Jacoby (Editor-in-Chief)
  • Robert McKercher (Staff Writer)
  • Mark Newhouse (Design & Production: Web)
  • Emily Acosta (Design & Production: PDF/Print)
  • Additional contributors as noted

LSST E-News is a free email publication of the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope Project. It is for informational purposes only, and the information is subject to change without notice.

Subscribe | Unsubscribe

Copyright © 2014 LSST Project Office, Tucson, AZ •