The LSST Team

More than 260 collaborators attended the LSST All-Hands Meeting in August, 2012.

The effort to build the LSST is partnership between public and private organizations, which is actively being supported and developed by more than one hundred astronomers, physicists, and engineers throughout the country who see the LSST as the next big leap in charting the heavens, probing nature, an exciting technological challenge, and a new model for doing big science.


LSST Director, Steven Kahn, LSST Project Office and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Deputy Project Director, Open
LSST Chief Scientist, J. Anthony Tyson, University of California, Davis
Project Manager, Victor Krabbendam, LSST Project Office
Project Scientist, Zeljko Ivezic, University of Washington
Systems Engineering Manager, George Angeli, LSST Project Office
Systems Scientist,Chuck Claver, LSST Project Office
EPO Manager, Suzanne Jacoby, LSST Project Office
Project Manager, Nadine Kurita, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Project Scientist, Steve Ritz, UC Santa Cruz
Telescope & Site
Project Manager, Bill Gressler, National Optical Astronomy Observatory
Project Scientist,Open
Data Management
Project Manager, Jeff Kantor, LSST Project Office
Project Scientist, Mario Juric, LSST Project Office
System Architect, Kian-Tat Lim, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Interface Scientist, Gregory Dubois-Felsmann, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Operations Simulation Scientist
Abi Saha, NOAO
Image Simulations Scientist
Andy Connolly, University of Washington


Project Science Team
The Project Science Team (PST) serves as an operational unit, within the Project, that carries out specific scientific performance investigations as prioritized by the Director, the Project Manager, and the Project Scientist. Its membership includes key scientists on the Project who provide specific necessary expertise. The Project Science Team provides required scientific input on critical technical decisions as the project construction proceeds.

Project Science Team Members (Nov 4, 2013):  

Zeljko Ivezic (chair)
Chuck Claver
Andrew Connolly
Mario Juric
Steve Kahn
Robert Lupton
Steve Ritz
Christopher Stubbs
Tony Tyson
George Angeli (ex officio)
Victor Krabbendam (ex officio)