The effort to build the LSST is partnership between public and private organizations. Financial support for LSST Design and Development comes from the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy , and private funding raised by the LSST Corporation, a non-profit 501(c)3 corporation formed in 2003, with headquarters in Tucson, AZ. LSST Project offices are on the 5th floor of the Steward Observatory Building on the University of Arizona Campus.

933 N. Cherry Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85721
Phone: (520) 881-2626
Fax: (520) 881-2627



  • Patricia Burchat, KIPAC/Stanford
  • Josh Frieman, FermiLab
  • Fred Gilman, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Buell Jannuzi, The University of Arizona*
  • Sebastian Lopez, University of Chile
  • David MacFarlane, SLAC (Chairman of the Board)
  • Robert Shelton, Research Corporation*
  • Lawrence Ramsey, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Constance Rockosi, UC Santa Cruz
  • Ed Seidel, NCSA
  • David Silva, NOAO*
  • Werner Stuetzle, University of Washington*
  • Michael Strauss, Princeton University

                                      *Founding Member


  • David MacFarlane, Chairman of the Board
  • Buell Jannuzi, Vice Chairman
  • Daniel Calabrese, Corporate Secretary
  • Bob Dickman, Treasurer


Adler PlanetariumMark Subbarao
Argonne National LaboratorySalman Habib
Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) Sam Aronson
California Institute of TechnologyGeorge Helou
Carnegie Mellon UniversityFred Gilman
ChileSebastian Lopez
Columbia UniversityArlin Crotts
Cornell UniversityRachel Bean
Drexel UniversityGordon Richards
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory Scott Dodelson
George Mason UniversityKirk Borne
Google, Inc.Rob Pike
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for AstrophysicsChris Stubbs
Institut de Physique Nucleaire et de Physique des Particules (IN2P3)Gabriel Chardin
Johns Hopkins UniversityAlex Szalay
Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology (KIPAC) - Stanford UniversityPat Burchat
Las Cumbres Observatory Global Telescope Network, Inc.Todd Boroson
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)Scot Olivier
Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL)Michael Warren
National Optical Astronomy Observatory*David Silva
National Radio Astronomy ObservatoryRobert Dickman
Northwestern UniversityVicky Kalogera
Princeton UniversityMichael Strauss
Purdue UniversityWei Cui
Research Corporation for Science Advancement*Robert Shelton
Rutgers UniversityCharles Keeton
SLAC National Accelerator LaboratoryDavid MacFarlane
Space Telescope Science InstituteHenry Ferguson
Texas A & M UniversityNick Suntzeff
The Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic**Michael Prouza
The Pennsylvania State UniversityLawrence Ramsey
The University of Arizona*Buell Jannuzi
University of California at DavisAndreas Albrecht
University of California at IrvineDavid Kirkby
University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignEd Seidel
University of MichiganChris Miller
University of OxfordIan Shipsey
University of PennsylvaniaLarry Gladney
University of PittsburghJeffrey Newman
University of Washington*Werner Stuetzle
Vanderbilt and Fisk UniversitiesKeivan Stassun

* Founding Member
** Affiliate

Community Input
Science Advisory Committee, chaired by Michael Strauss of Princeton University, represents the scientific community in developing the science programs that will use LSST data. We also have a parallel mechanism for LSST community science program suggestions. These inputs have resulted in key deliverables and a Science Requirements Document [PDF 342KB]. We welcome suggestions for additional science programs that would be enabled by the LSST. Join the Mission!


LSST Science Collaborations and their chairs (Science collaborations are independent. The following are known to the LSST Project as of December 11, 2013)
Supernovae: Richard Kessler (University of Chicago); Tom Matheson (NOAO);
Weak lensing: Bhuvnesh Jain (University of Pennsylvania); David Wittman (University of California Davis);
Stars, Milky Way and Local Volume: John Bochanski (Haverford College); Nitya Jacob Kallivayalil (University of Virginia); Beth Willman (Haverford College);
Active Galactic Nuclei: Niel Brandt (Pennsylvania State University);
Solar System: Michael Brown (Caltech); Lynne Jones (University of Washington);
Galaxies: Michael Cooper (UC Irvine); Brant Robertson (University of Arizona);
Transients/variable stars: Ashish Mahabal (Caltech); Lucianne Walkowicz (Princeton University);
Large-scale structure/baryon oscillations: Eric Gawiser (Rutgers The State University of New Jersey); Shirley Ho (Carnegie Mellon University);
Strong Lensing: Phil Marshall (KIPAC);
Informatics and Statistics: Kirk Borne (George Mason University);
Dark Energy (DESC): Bhuvnesh Jain (University of Pennsylvania); Steve Kahn (Stanford University / SLAC National Accelerator)